For full functionality of the yorkramblers site it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.
About Us

The York Group works together with other local Ramblers groups in the East Yorkshire & Derwent Area (namely: Beverley, Howden & Goole, Hull & Holderness, Pocklington, Ryedale and Scarborough) to organise a programme of full, half-day and summer evening walks, including some that use public transport. Our aim is to enjoy the many miles of footpaths in the Vale of York and Howardian Hills, as well as the chalk hills and dry valleys of the Wolds, the heather clad North York Moors, the splendours of the Yorkshire coast, and the limestone Dales and millstone grit hills to the west. If you are interested in walking with us, you are welcome to try one or two walks before joining.

Some of our members inspect footpaths, trying to get stiles and bridges repaired, obstacles removed and signage improved. We are always looking for volunteers to help in this work. The Ramblers campaigns nationally for greater access for responsible walkers to the countryside and to the coast, and to keep open (or re-open) those rights of way shown on Ordnance Survey maps.

Walking Groups

A varied programme of walks is offered, throughout the year, by our Walking Groups. They are:

  • Tuesday Walks (7-8 miles)
  • Wednesday Walks (10 miles)
  • Ambles (shorter, slower paced)
  • Public Transport Walks (5 – 11 miles)
  • GYBO (20-40 Group)

Go to the list of forthcoming walks in the surrounding area.

Group Committee

Ian Reavill (Chairman), Richard Bramall (Secretary), Paul Shepherd (Treasurer), Doreen Felton (Ambles), Tom Halstead (Webmaster), Steve Hoather (Wednesday Walks), David Nunns (Footpaths), Avis Strudwick (York Transport Walks), Simon Lyle, Eric Smith(Membership Secretary), Viv Taylor.

Footpath Sub-Committee

David Nunns, Doreen Felton and Nick Slater.

Group Territory

The York Group, is part of the East Yorkshire & Derwent Area and functions in the City of York UA and the following parishes in North Yorkshire:

Aldwark, Alne, Angram Grange, Barlby with Osgodby, Beningbrough, Brafferton, Brandsby-cum-Stearsby, Carlton Husthwaite, Cliffe, Coxwold, Crayke, Dalby-cum-Skewsby, Easingwold, Escrick, Farlington, Flawith, Helperby, Hemingbrough, Huby, Husthwaite, Kelfield, Linton-on-Ouse,Marton-cum-Moxby, Myton-on-Swale, Newburgh, Newton-on-Ouse, North Duffield, Oulston, Overton, Raskelf, Riccall, Shipton, Skipwith, Stearsby, Stillingfleet, Stillington, Sutton-on-the-Forest, Tholthorpe, Thorganby, Thormanby, Thornton on the Hill, Tollerton, Whenby, Wildon Grange, Yearsley, Youlton, and such other territory as may be agreed with the governing body of the Area from time to time.

Display on a map

Other Areas and Groups

A list of all the Ramblers' Areas & Groups in England, Wales & Scotland can be found here .

This panel updated: 20 April 2019